How do you make it work?

Weekends go by way too fast around here.

By late Sunday afternoon I start to feel myself get a little anxious or perhaps I even feel a tad emotional because I know in a brief amount of time my husband will have to get up in the wee hours of the morning and head off to work. He commutes everyday a total of 4 hours and works very long days. In fact even as I type this he is still not home from work and it is just about 9 pm.

Just a handful of months ago this was not the case and our time together was not so scarce, but the company he was working for drastically cut his salary last March and after almost a year of trying to survive on such a cut with a new baby we realized he would have to look elsewhere. Except we had no idea it would involve an extensive commute and many more hours.

We are grateful he even has a job and I certainly don’t mean to sound as if I am complaining because I am fortunate to be able to stay at home with our daughter. It just seems like we haven’t been able to catch a break. It’s been a rough ride since we got together.

We briefly dated before we just knew we wanted to be together, moved in with one another, got engaged,  found out we were expecting, lost our baby, got pregnant again, while planning a wedding, got married, changed jobs, and all of this takes place while we are raising 4 boys, 2 of mine and 2 of his with other parents involved.

I am now home alone most of the time with our sweet baby girl and I LOVE it! Only lately its been getting harder since she is rolling around and is easily frustrated with all the things she wants to do, but can’t and on top of that she is teething.

A little over a week ago I discovered the world of blogging and I was immediately drawn in. Except only now it seems an impossible thing for me to maintain or even be apart of. How do I balance my need to have a creative outlet and care for my daughter?

I read other women’s blogs while I am constantly breastfeeding and I wonder where they find the time. I am exhausted. Staying up late like I am doing right now is not really an option if I want my little girl to have a pleasant mama.

So I put the question out there to anyone who has some advice on how I can keep my sanity and spend these precious moments with my daughter. How did you get started in blogging and when? How old were your children? How did you make it work for you?

Thanks in advance!

About mommymetamorphosis

Redeemed. Lucky wife. Crunchy. Organic Mama of 2 boys, 2 step sons, one Little Flower and are newest Little Gem. In my previous life I was a yogi, runner, artist, dreamer, believer of all things purple! Now I'm a cloth diapering fanatic, early homeschooling mama, who tends to leave the house with spit-up somewhere on my person. I have been keeping a journal since I was a kid, but I never let anyone read it... so this should be interesting!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How do you make it work?

  1. Brandy says:

    I blog on the weekends during naptime and then schedule for the week. Sometimes I shoot one off while L is eating his breakfast, or on my phone when my husband is driving somewhere. Also don’t think you need to write a ton. Hell don’t write anything. Take a photo of your kid. Make a video of you 2 interacting. Let her “draw” in paint on the computer and post that. You are creating memories, sharing what you love with her and getting something done! This is for you…we are just along for the ride 😉

    • thanks for answering this… I know it is suppose to be a creative outlet not another thing to stress me out. Sometimes I take myself way too serious!! LOL! I’m a nut! Q for ya:if I want to reference someone else’s post…(say it made me think of something to expand on and write about how do I go about it? Create a link? or mention them by name and twitter account? Want to make sure I give credit to previous writer on such topics that get my brain steaming. have a great day 🙂

Leave a Reply

