Loss of Love on Valentine’s Day

In 2001 loss came inevitably after my mom was diagnosed with stage 4 bone cancer.

The fear had come full circle. The breast cancer had metastasized.

We were devastated, but my mom was still willing to fight. Sadly after a long, hard, horrifically emotional battle she died.

I was only 28 years old.

This December marked the 10 year anniversary of her death. I experienced many seasons over those past 10 years. My life was remarkably different and the painful lessons that grew from her loss remain. Nothing in this life is permanent.

I grew closer and closer to my dad’s sister, my favorite aunt, my beloved mentor, my second mom. She was my safe haven, my listening ear, my shoulder to cry on, and so much more. She encouraged me to start this blog. She was to be my editor. A retired English teacher of 30 years, a Shakespearean scholar, a expert in word choice and grammar, a connoisseur of literature. She was the embodiment of dignity, grace, beauty, and strength to me.

Sadly. Unexpectedly. She collapsed on December 28, 2011 and never regained consciousness.

My editor, mentor, friend, my “person” to quote the word choice for Meredith and Christina’s relationship on Grey’s Anatomy is gone.

We were supposed to share this blogging experience together and I was looking forward to learning even more from her as I would start a journey of divulging my life, not just in a composition book, but in the virtual world. Sharing my heartache of loss, love, and silly stories about my life as a mom of five, who still crazily wants to have another one.

We agreed I would email her the pieces for editing and she would give me her honest opinion on content and of course check for grammatical errors.

My heart aches and my brain still cannot conceive the magnitude of yet another loss.

Another woman taken from my life way too soon.

I know its Valentine’s Day today and most of the stories posted today won’t have nearly this heavy of content, but there are those of us even on days specifically marked on our calendars chosen to endorse love, who will hurt today, like any other day. There will be people who mourn the loss of love that once filled their heart by a significant other, family member, or close friend.

Today I honor the love my Aunt had for her family as a devoted wife of 52 years, mother of 3, grandmother to 7, and “Aunt” to many.

Her life was filled with love & she will be missed.

About mommymetamorphosis

Redeemed. Lucky wife. Crunchy. Organic Mama of 2 boys, 2 step sons, one Little Flower and are newest Little Gem. In my previous life I was a yogi, runner, artist, dreamer, believer of all things purple! Now I'm a cloth diapering fanatic, early homeschooling mama, who tends to leave the house with spit-up somewhere on my person. I have been keeping a journal since I was a kid, but I never let anyone read it... so this should be interesting!
This entry was posted in Life virtual journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

